DO YOU NEED A CONTRACTORS LICENSE IN UTAH?
In Utah, the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing regulates contractors. As part of the licensing process, contractors may need to post a surety bond under Utah Code Ann 58-55-306(1)(b) or 58-55-306(4)(c)(ii).
WHAT SIZE BOND DO I NEED FOR MY UTAH CONTRACTOR LICENSE?
Bond amounts vary depending on the license classification:
- General Engineering & General Building License – $50,000 Surety Bond
- Residential & Small Commercial License – $25,000 Surety Bond
- All Other Licenses – $15,000 Surety Bond
Please consult with the Division of Licensing to confirm the correct license and bond amount for your specific needs.
HOW DO I GET MY UTAH CONTRACTOR LICENSE SURETY BOND?
The first step is to complete our quick online application for your free bond quote. Submission takes only five minutes, and our underwriting staff will be in contact with you within a couple of hours with pricing.
After you receive approval, you must sign an indemnity agreement with the surety and provide payment for your bond premium. In most cases, we can issue bonds the same day we receive your signed documents and payment.
HOW DO I APPLY WITH THE STATE OF UTAH FOR MY CONTRACTOR LICENSE?
The license application for the state of Utah can be found here. Applications must be at least 18 years old and have at least 2-years of work experience in a related field, with one of the years being in a management or supervisor role. Additionally, the following requirements must be met:
- Complete Pre-License Course (Specialty Contractors require 25-hour course and all general contractors and electrical contractors require 30-hour course)
- Take and Pass the Utah Business and Laws examination (This test is required for all classifications)
- Submit a copy of the test results with the application form
- Trade examination: You or the chosen qualifier must pass the trade examination required for the classification(s) you apply for, and submit a copy of the test results with the application form. The test provider for the Utah Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing is PSI. All examinations are conducted at PSI’s computer examination centers throughout Utah.
- General Liability Insurance Certificate ($100,000 minimum for each incident and $300,000 in total that covers and where DOPL is listed as certificate holder).
The certificate must include:
– The name and address of the insured (which must match the name and address on the application exactly)
– Policy number
– Expiration date
– The insurance company
– Contact information
If you have employees, you MUST:
- Have obtained a certificate of workers compensation insurance with DOPL as certificate holder
- Have obtained a state withholding tax registration from the Utah State Tax Commission
- Have obtained an unemployment registration from the Utah Department of Workforce Services
CAN I GET A UTAH CONTRACTOR LICENSE SURETY BOND WITH BAD CREDIT?
Pacific Surety offers a wide-range of approvals, regardless of credit, for Utah Contractor License Surety Bonds. Our strong surety relationships help get your price down as low as possible each year. There is no need to shop your rate – we do that for you! If you have any specific questions, feel free to contact our knowledgeable underwriting staff.
HOW MUCH DOES A UTAH CONTRACTOR LICENSE SURETY BOND COST?
Utah Contractor License Surety Bonds are subject to underwriting and the price you will pay depends on a review of your personal credit report. Pacific Surety is proud to offer rates starting at $113 annually for well-qualified applicants. It typically takes just a few hours from quote to issuance of the bond, and we have the ability to beat any competitors pricing. If you have any specific questions, feel free to contact our knowledgeable underwriting staff.
Surety Bond Name
Contractor License Surety Bonds – Utah Contractor License Bond
VariesRequest a Free Quote